Irish Poetry with Patricia-Anne Moore

August 4, 2010

Whether you regard yourself as a poet or not, you’re surrounded by poetry. Take a look at the world around you and tell me that you can’t see poetry in the trees, in the weather, in the ground you’re walking on and the cute, furry animals that cross your path. Or, if you’re a USF student, the squirrels that don’t hesitate to climb you like a tree for food.

You can’t help but to be a poet in Ireland. This country is inspiring, a muse that offers new experiences at every bend. I’m sure that the people who live here may not always appreciate it, just as I take my own country for granted at times, but the country is truly awe-inspiring.

Irish poet Patricia- Anne Moore. Photo from http://www.more2life.ie

In this morning’s class, we had the honor of being taught by Patricia-Anne Moore, a distinguished Irish poet. Essentially, we went over some of William Butler Yeats’ poetry, whom Moore regarded as “the touchstone for Irish poetry” but who is being superseded by a new generation of Irish writers. Yeats’ poetry encompasses many topics, including those that are relevant to all of us, no matter our race, ethnicity, religion or creed, like aging, dying and unrequited love. He also penned political poems like “Easter 1916,” about the 1916 rebellion in Dublin and all the great poets and writers who were executed for standing up to the English.

At the end of the lecture, Moore took us out to the “living bridge” that leads along the Shannon River. There is a subtle metal bounce with each footstep as you make your way to the other side but the view is stunning. There is so much vegetation and wildlife to observe. Moore asked us to make observations about the walk on the bridge that we could deveplop into poetry. Here are three poems from my classmates, John Sadler, Carol Mitchell and Torie Doll:

J

John Sadler showing off his picture with his Limerick barber, who is also a former bicycle racer.

A P.A. Recommended Walk

By John Sadler


The living bridge undulated

moved me up and down

while the breeze put me to sea

amidst cumulus clouds and canopy

touching me.

Our path was felt

like  a web we flew

spider-like across the

Shannon’s flowing depth

asking where to will I alight?

Suspended beneath the sun

I wonder, will this teaching moment

last me or shall I rapidly

return to scanner beeps and plastic bags?

The one and only Torie Doll.

The Secrets of the Trees

By Torie Doll


The trees stand at attention as I glide across The Living Bridge,

Slightly bobbing up and down from the gentle breeze.

My auburn-colored hair dances in the wind as the emerald trees

Sway to a rhythm only they can hear.

Who knows how long these trees have acted as soldiers,

Guarding the river Shannon.

Only one can imagine the secrets they have heard and the sights

They have seen.

White puffs of pollen travel through the air around me.

I imagine these are the secrets of the trees that are being shared

Throughout the forest.

If only I knew the language of nature,

For the secrets are falling on deaf ears.

But I am only a vistor and have to depart,

Leaving the secrets to remain only for the trees.

Presenting.... Carol Mitchell!

The Naive Melody

By Carol Mitchell

Far away from my known bay

I walk into rural beauty, overtaken by its naturalistic melody

The trees dance in the beautiful cool summer breeze

And birds soar within to join in this native dance

The bridge my feet are following on; starts to move with the birds and the trees.

These rural beauties know a melody these city ears never heard

I ended this walk approaching familiarity but in the distance the native flag still gracefully listens to a melody these foreign ears has

never heard.

One Response to “Irish Poetry with Patricia-Anne Moore”

  1. Dr. Rick said

    Three published poets now in our student group! Well done, all.

Leave a Reply

